Goals

Learn the ukelele.

~~~~~~~~~~

so play your favorite cover song, especially if the words are wrong
‘cos even if your grades are bad, it doesn’t mean you’re failing
do your homework with a fork
and eat your fruit loops in the dark
and bring your flask of jack to work
and play your ukulele

ukulele, thing of wonder
ukulele, wand of thunder
you can play the ukulele, too
in london and down under

This song (and this video with Amanda Palmer and her hot author hubby Neil Gaiman) literally brings me so much joy that I grin like an idiot every time I listen to it. It additionally lightens and brightens my spirit due to the fact that I was introduced to Amanda Palmer by my dear friend Cayce Pollard. This amazing woman has introduced me to so many things that I have not only come to love -but have had a hand in shaping who I am becoming. Through her friendship and the art, music, videos, books and ideas she has shared: my life has expanded. I am still discovering things in the universe of our friendship.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Today I stumbled on the delightful surprise that Palmer meditates! She wrote this in an article, “Melody vs. Meditation,” for the Shambhala Sun:

A perfect song, to me, is a captured moment of inspiration barely touched. When a good idea hits, it’s as if I’ve thrown a set of colored juggling balls in the air and taken a blurred (yet beautiful) photograph. If I develop that photo unaltered, I will have a perfect image. If I am convinced that I can get a better photo (just a little better) by juggling again before it gets dark and the light changes, I’m screwed. This is where sitting and art-making go hand in hand. Spending hour after hour laboring on finding the perfect line or the perfect arrangement of notes is about as productive as wandering the world seeking the perfect tree under which you’ll find enlightenment.

Finally completed some goals and am walking the path to the lands where others dwell. My plane tickets to Vietnam and New York are safely starred in my e-mail inbox, my plans are made for a templestay in the southern part of Korea, found out about a 7k women’s run, saw a genuinely-spine-chillingly-incredible traditional music and dance performance downtown and sent some daring text messages.

~~~~~~~~

and i have already spent too much time
doing things i didn’t want to
so if i just want to make out all the time
you can bet your black ass that i’m going to

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goals

  1. I feel super narcissistic liking this post but RIGHT BACK AT YOU. *massive hugs* Let’s have a million more adventures together.

Leave a Reply

