déménagement

Concise Oxford English Dictionary © 2008 Oxford University Press:
move/muːv/

▶verb

  • 1 go in a specified direction or manner.■ change the position or place of.■ (move up) adjust one’s position to be nearer to or make room for someone else.
  • 2 change one’s place of residence.■ (move in or out) start (or cease) living or working in a place.
  • 3 change or cause to change from one state, opinion, or activity to another.■ make progress: they are anxious to get things moving.
  • 4 take or cause to take action.
  • 5 arouse a strong feeling, especially of sorrow or sympathy, in (someone).
  • 6 (move in/within) be socially active in (a sphere) or among (a group).
  • 7 propose for discussion and resolution at a meeting or legislative assembly.
  • 8 (with reference to the bowels) empty or be emptied.

– phrases
get a move on informal hurry up.
make a move

  • 1 take action.
  • 2 Brit. leave somewhere.

make a move on (or put the moves on) informal make a proposition of a sexual nature to.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Moving: it is all these things and more. For me now, on the eve of my déménagement to Chicago, it is terror. It is excitement. It is the unknown. In some ways I feel that this sensation should be lessened as, after five years, I am moving back to the country of my birth. So far it has only served to intensify things. So much more significance has been placed on this move.

  • Now you’ll settle down and figure out what you’re going to ‘do’ with your life.
  • Now you need to pick sides concerning religion and politics.
  • Now you’ll think about finding a husband.
  • Now you need to make money.
  • Now you’ve returned.

 

“Longing for Heaven”
“Marriage Better Than Ever”

Have I returned? Am I “making progress?” Am I being “socially active” within a new group of old friends? Back because I was “moved” by struggles of family members I dearly love? Can I “move up” in a world of stressful careers that I dread and feel completely unprepared for?

Whatever this is, the definition that screams loudest in my head is: GET. A. MOVE. ON. which for the moment I am choosing to interpret as: DANCE. YOUR. ASS. OFF.

“Human nature will not flourish, any more than a potato, if it be planted and replanted, for too long a series of generations, in the same worn-out soil. My children have had other birthplaces, and, so far as their fortunes may be within my control, shall strike their roots into unaccustomed earth.” Nathaniel Hawthorne

in Hue, Vietnam only last month…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to déménagement

  1. Informal Hurry Up is my new favorite phrase.

Leave a Reply

