The danger of a single story

This past week I have been basking in all the amazing posts and thoughts being shared by various women in honour of International Women’s Day and Women’s History Month. I have also been carefully cobbling together stories but until I’m ready to post my first one, I wanted to share this amazing talk by the author Chimamanda Adichie.

The Danger of a Single Story

I am currently reading “Half of a Yellow Sun” after loving her book “The Thing Around Your Neck.” In this talk, she articulates her artistic process and about how others have continually tried to tell her who she “is” and what her process should be as a female Nigerian author.

Also, this short documentary (it’s worth the 9 minutes really!) from the devotionproject.org that a friend shared recently is wonderful.

Foremost in my Mind

Finally, I still have two books up for grabs by the lovely Jane Jeong Trenka! I believe in and love these books so much that I want to buy and ship them to you -so you’ll have a chance to experience her work too! Comment on a post or shoot me an e-mail ^^

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment